Blog Tour: On the Verge by Garen Glazier

verge banner

Spooky Girl Reads is proud to be a stop today on the On the Verge by Garen Glazier blog tour! Read on for more info about the book, my review, and a bit about Garen Glazier herself!

My Review

I found this book to be very interesting. It takes the supernatural and it mixes with the human world in such a way as to make it perfectly plausible that this could, in fact, be reality in some way.

The Verge is a place on the very edges of human reality where the creatures of myth and legend exist. These creatures can, upon occasion, wander into our reality. Sometimes, they even become bound to objects such as books, holy relics, and paintings. This is an interesting concept and definitely more interesting that your run of the mill vampire novels or fallen angel books. Sure, I like those, but they’re starting to get a wee bit on the old side. This is the supernatural on a whole other level.

Freya is endearing. Awkward, loving of curious objects, and now finding herself in quite the pickle thanks to a very weird old lady and a supernatural being who is at odds with said very weird old lady. Ophidia & Dakryma are extremely interesting characters while Beldame gives me the absolute creeps. Then again, she is a very weird old lady.

I loved the way the story was written. It was easy to get sucked right into the book and I didn’t want to put it down, even though I had to upon occasion. The cats feel they need to be fed upon occasion I suppose. All in all, a great read and a book I definitely recommend for anyone looking for a supernatural book that isn’t ordinary.

About the Author

Headshot

I’m a lifelong resident of Seattle. I married my Russia-born-America-raised high school sweetheart, and we have a four year old and a new little one born in February.

I like coffee shops, bookstores, dancing in my living room and singing in my car. The opening scene of Up always makes me cry. The Three Amigos always makes me laugh. Fashion magazines, croissants, and long, long baths are my guilty pleasures. They might occur separately or together. I prefer boxing classes to yoga, and I get some of my best ideas when I’m running. I loved school and spent more time than one really should getting a business degree in marketing and a master’s in art history. In an ideal world I’d go to bed at 2am and wake up at 10am. I’ve never been an early bird, and I feel strongly that alarm clocks kill dreams.

Learn more about me and read my blog, Scriven by Garen, at garenglazier.com.

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/garen.glazier
Twitter: @GarenGlazier

On the Verge is available on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1KBUQxS

I received this book for free from Sage’s Blog Tours in exchange for my honest opinion. No other compensation was received and all opinions are my own.

This blog tour is brought to you by:

TourButton

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: On the Verge by Garen Glazier

Leave a Reply

