#Struggles by Craig Groeschel

 

I should have known this book would tick me off. Books of this type usually do. I’ll be perfectly honest – I’ve been there, done the whole “living for Christ” thing – and got exactly zero blessing from it. I don’t see very many people being blessed because they got their social media addictions under control and lived for Christ like they were told to. I see a lot of pastors making claims (as the one who wrote this book does) that this person and that person are so blessed because they have the attitude that Christ is all they need. Yeah, no, that doesn’t work.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t even get past chapter 1 before giving up on the book, it annoyed me so much. As soon as I saw words indicating that I would not be content with my life until I made the determination that Christ is all I need, I was done. Why? Because I’ve been there. I’ve done that. I was actually more discontented with my life with that attitude than I am now. And actually, I’m not discontented with my life now. I see other people’s social media posts and say “Oh that’s cool” or “I’d like one of those” but I’m not discontent because they have it and I don’t. I’m not discontent if I can’t get it.

The author writes this book as though everyone who is on social media and feels the slightest pang of jealousy about a friend’s new marriage while they’re still single or someone’s new car, is discontent with their lives. No, it doesn’t mean that. Sure, I can be a bit jealous, but then I realize I like my life the way it is. I don’t HAVE to put God first to be content. I honestly wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone unless, of course, they don’t mine being told that they are discontent with their lives if they feel the slightest pang of jealousy when someone posts something on social media and that unless they dedicate their lives to Christ they’ll never be content.

I received this book free of charge from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

