Black Inked Pearl – A Girl’s Quest by Ruth Finnegan

 

When I received Black Inked Pearl from Ruth Finnegan, I was told to please try to look past the speech-like writing. The problem is, the writing isn’t speech-like. It’s nothing like I’ve ever seen and I couldn’t even read it. I honestly am not sure how anyone could possibly read this book.

I couldn’t get past the way it was written. It was stilted, sentences broken in places, nearly impossible to read or make sense of. There were parts that weren’t punctuated correctly. I couldn’t read it—my brain couldn’t comprehend what I was reading.

I’ve seen reports that it is “dreamlike” but that doesn’t sit well with me. Dreamlike would still be readable. It would still be punctuated correctly. It would still be readable and comprehensible. Black Inked Pearl was none of these. I don’t see dreamlike at all.

Perhaps it is my overly analytical mind. Perhaps it is my inner grammar/spelling/punctuation fiend coming out. But I simply could not read this book and ever hope to understand what was going on. I can’t even give it one star because I couldn’t get far enough into the book to even know what it is about.

5 thoughts on “Black Inked Pearl – A Girl’s Quest by Ruth Finnegan

  1. Another viewpoint on it – not better necessarily, just different, from someone who liked it

    Reviewed By Chris Fischer for Readers’ Favorite

    Wow! I just finished reading Black Inked Pearl: A Girl’s Quest by author Ruth Finnegan, and all I can say is “Wow!” It’s written in a unique and creative style, one that at times blends poetry with prose. Follow the story of Kate, a girl from Ireland who falls in love with a mysterious man. She rejects him, which she soon regrets, and spends most of her life seeking him out. In telling her tale, we learn much about Kate’s life, from her growing up years in Ireland to her schooling in a convent to her professional career. When she seeks out the man missing from her life, her journey takes her on an epic adventure that readers will not soon forget.

    I very much enjoyed Black Inked Pearl. I have not read a book quite like it before, and coming from a person who is a voracious reader, that’s not an easy feat. Author Ruth Finnegan has done a wonderful job in creating interesting characters, especially protagonist Kate, as well as realistic yet somehow ethereal settings that the reader will feel completely enveloped in. Her ability to switch between realism and poetry is enviable and beautiful at the same time. Any reader who enjoys a lovely, unique and interesting work of fiction should absolutely read Black Inked Pearl: A Girl’s Quest. I am pleased to recommend this book, and will be eagerly awaiting the next offering by author Ruth Finnegan. If it is anything like her debut novel, it will be simply magical!

    Like

Leave a Reply

