Noir by Jacqueline E. Garlick

 

It’s unfortunate when the second book in a series doesn’t live up to the first. I finished Lumière and I immediately started Noir because I wanted to know what happened. But a funny thing happened – I simply cannot get into Noir at all. I’ve tried multiple times and I just can’t seem to get into it.

For whatever reason, Noir does not capture my attention, much less keep it. I had to relegate it to the abandoned shelf on Goodreads. Perhaps someday I might be able to return to it and actually read it, but at this time, the book holds no interest for me. It happens – sometimes a first novel is brilliant but the second in the series just doesn’t live up to the first. In the music industry they call it the “sophomore slump” –where the second record simply doesn’t live up to the expectations or sales of the first–and it appears that this can also happen in the world of books as well.

I can’t give it one star because it’s not truly that bad, but I can only give it two stars because if it can’t catch and hold my attention after its preceding novel, I can’t give it more than two stars.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. No other compensation was received and all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

