Saturn Run – A Novel of 2066 by John Sandford and Ctein

 

Honestly, I hate to say this, but as a John Sandford fan, this one was pretty bad. I’ve always loved John Sandford’s mystery novels but this foray into the world of Sci-Fi just isn’t grabbing me. I literally cannot concentrate on the book. I can’t even finish it – I’m 8 chapters in and have zero desire to ever finish it.

For one, there seems to be too much going on. New characters are constantly popping up and while I realize that each new character that pops up has something integral to do with the story, it is rather annoying. There is also the fact that the story just doesn’t seem to have a clear cut place it is going – other than Saturn.

There isn’t anything particularly exciting that is happening – nothing to keep my interest. Generally speaking, if I’m not engaged and wanting to read more, not wanting to put the book down by the 6th or 7th chapter, I’m not going to be. It saddens me because I really had high hopes for this book based on it being a John Sandford novel. Perhaps it is the collaboration with Ctein or perhaps Sci-Fi just isn’t the genre for Sandford, but I just can’t say I liked this book.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. No other compensation was received and all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

