Last Light Falling: Into the Darkness by J. E. Plemons

 

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. No other compensation was received and all opinions are my own.

It was a dark and stormy night… perfect for me to curl up with a good book. Which is precisely what I did with Last Light Falling: Into the Darkness. J.E. Plemons did it again – and this time he did it even better than the first time.

We’re back in the dystopian end-times world in which Arena and Gabe Power are forced to live. Arena is still holding fast to her covenant to bring the wrath of God to the world, but after losing so many she loves and adding new people to love and fear for, things have drastically changed.

I love Arena’s character even more in this second installment of the Last Light Falling series because it shows she truly is human. She cares too much and she lets that show in the countless times she is reduced to tears of grief. She also lets herself be consumed by her anger and her hatred of the enemy – the fallen government of the US and the intruding governments of other countries.

Into the Darkness was a wild ride from start to finish with plenty of battle scenes to keep you busy. While I’ve seen a few reviews that have said there were too many battle scenes, I don’t think there were. I think the number of battle scenes was just right. It kept the book moving along and kept the action going. I do agree that not all battle scenes needed to end with most or all of the enemies dead, but it also fits with the storyline to do so.

Again, you’ll want your tissue box because there are some sad points in the book that will make you want to cry. And get ready for your socks to be knocked off, because the ending to this book will shock the hell out of you!

Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will like this series.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s